90-62: Frustrated with Francona


I’m a big Terry Francona fan. I think he’s awesome with the players, and he’s into using the numbers and everything like that. But am I the only one who feels that Tito is not handling the pitching staff very well right now?

He left Curt Schilling in too long in the third game of the Yankee series, and Jason Giambi narrowly missed a home run. Then when Francona still didn’t yank him, that cost a 3-run Derek Jeter home run and probably the game.

So tonight he lifts Jon Lester after 6 2/3 innings, sparing him having to face Vernon Wells one more time (Wells took Lester pretty hard to the warning track in left-center the time before, though Jacoby Ellsbury tracked it down). I applauded this move, as Lester was up around 100 pitches anyway and was starting to get out of his mechanics, resulting in some erratic pitches and high fastballs. Manny Delcarmen gets out #3. It gave Lester a great start statistically, and he was in line for the win, great for his confidence.

Then Tito goes and does something stupid with Eric Gagne in the 8th inning. With a 2-1 lead, Gagne gets two outs, then allows a walk and a single. He then proceeds to walk two more batters, scoring the tying run, and Francona still leaves him in with the bases loaded. Bad choice, as noted slugger Russ Adams takes him for a 2-run pinch hit double to right (voice dripping with sarcasm). What the heck is going on here?

So the Sox go on to lose another one, and the lead slips to 2 1/2 games. Don’t give me that he’s trying to help Gagne work through something. I don’t want to hear that. Francona is not getting paid to play Dr. Phil with all these head cases, he’s paid to win ball games.

Oh, but we can still get in on the wildcard. Don’t give me that. I want to see my Sox fight to the end and win the division for once. I want to see one season where they don’t fold down the stretch, and where they don’t need to come back from an 0-3 deficit in the ALCS to win it all. I’m all for resting guys for the postseason, and resetting the rotation, etc. But don’t throw games on moves like that. Do your job.

3 Responses to 90-62: Frustrated with Francona

  1. firedannyainge says:

    I was going to write something but you gave me a blog idea Thanks:)

    http://firedannyainge.wordpress.com

  2. oldskool138 says:

    “I want to see one season where they don’t fold down the stretch, and where they don’t need to come back from an 0-3 deficit in the ALCS to win it all.”

    The Sox are folding faster than Superman on laundry day.

    They’ll make the post-season (I’m not ready to jump off a bridge quite yet) but I fear that this offense cannot get them enough runs to win enough games. These aren’t the old (’04-’06) come from behind, walk-off Sox. If they aren’t leading by 7 innings (or allow the team to pull ahead in the 7th) forget it.

  3. Pat says:

    Thank you for your bitching! I feel like Francona has cost us a few unnessesary games, and the Tito/Gagne 1-2 punch has been the most frusterating way to lose winnable games…consistantly. Tito has a lot of merit, but he doesn’t look right now like a guy I’d want managing my team in September/October baseball.

Leave a Reply

