Manny being antsy


In case you missed it, here’s what Manny Ramirez said on Wednesday to Rob Bradford:

I want to know what’s my situation… I want no more (expletive) where they tell you one thing and behind your back they do another thing. I think I’ve earned that respect, for a team to sit down with me and tell me this is what we want, this is what we want to do.

The fact the John Henry responded in the press that he was offended by Manny’s comments is not good.

The coverage of this situation makes it sound pretty bad, but I think all Manny wants is to know what the Sox are thinking at this point. He’s obviously frustrated with not knowing what they’re planning to do. Given his marginal (for him) performance and the couple of bad PR situations this season, I’m thinking the Sox decline the options and try to sign him to a longer, less lucrative (per year) deal. They’d have to offer him more than a $40M package for it to be worthwhile for the 36-year old Ramirez, who wanted two one-year options of $20M each to be picked up. Maybe they could do something like 3 years, $45M?

If he doesn’t like that, he’ll walk; what else can we do? Thoughts?

4 Responses to Manny being antsy

  1. Pat says:

    If Manny is antsy and wants to talk with the F.O. about their plans for him in the future, I think that’s fair, and they should honor his request.

    That said I really wonder about the FO take on Manny. It seems obvious (though not certain) that Manny can’t catch up to fast balls anymore. He still manages to be productive, but he won’t be like he was three years ago ever again. I think his production won’t be worth close to 20million next year. If we can find a way to replace him in ’09 or ’10, I think we should just pick up his options until then. I’d rather not be stuck with him for another three years with Mike Lowell, J.D. Drew and Jason Varitek all on the wrong side of 30.

  2. redsoxtalk says:

    Manny is 36 years old, and that is a concern. He is not and will not be the same Manny, I agree. But even in this “down” year, he leads the team with 18 HR and is second with 60 RBI at the ASB. He is still first in the AL among left fielders with a .908 OPS (Carlos Quentin is close behind at .900) and second with 63.8 runs created (and is number one in RC/27 at 7.12). He is seeing 4.02 pitches/PA, right in line with what the Sox want from their lineup. My point is simply that we shouldn’t discount his production. Maybe he goes from murdering fastballs to blooping them over the infield while pounding offspeed stuff. That could still be useful.

    I guess the question with the options is, who do you target to replace him as a power right-handed bat in this lineup? You have to pair someone with David Ortiz, and while they’re solid, I don’t see Kevin Youkilis or Mike Lowell filling that role. Do you bet that Matt Holliday goes to free agency, or do you settle for Pat Burrell or Adam Dunn?

    There is too much to cover in one comment here. Post is up and coming!

  3. Pat says:

    I’ve been thinking Manny has been worse than he is, primarily because he has been very streaky. Apparently his WPA is 3.83, which is third best among batters in the MAJORS. He’s still good. Some of the news around him has made it harder for me to root for him. I’ll let the numbers speak.

    I would love to get Adam Dunn, only maybe he doesn’t fit on this team with Ortiz being a lefty.

    I would consider free agents as they come. Manny’s options give room for off season decisions.

  4. Pingback: Still Manny? « Red Sox Talk

Leave a Reply

