Is Lugo tradeable?


Jon Paul Morosi of the Detroit Free Press has this suggestion: trade Julio Lugo for Dontrelle Willis in a “change of scenery” (disappointment) deal. Both players have inflated multi-year contracts remaining, and both have been big disappointments with their new teams.

I appreciate the idea of trading Lugo, but I can’t say I’m too enthused about the D-train pitching at Fenway right now. I know I endorsed getting him a year and a half ago, but Willis has regressed even more since then; his walks and HR numbers are through the roof, and as a lefty, I can see him struggling in Boston. I wonder, why has he stopped throwing that cut fastball the past two seasons? He’s pitched a ton of innings early in his career; could it be arm trouble?

Anyway, I don’t think Theo gets enough value for Lugo this offseason, so he’ll wait until at least next year’s trade deadline to move him.

Plus, if I’m Detroit, I’d rather go for one of the other younger, supposedly available shortstops this offseason, such as J.J. Hardy or Khalil Greene. The Tigers don’t have much to offer for Hardy, but I can’t imagine Greene would be that hard to get.

Leave a Reply

